Russian-Lithuanian Council on the Long-Term Cooperation

Russian-Lithuanian Council on the Long-Term Cooperation between regional and local authorities of the Kaliningrad Region of the RF and the Republic of Lithuania.

In accordance with Article 8 of the Agreement between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Lithuanian Republic on the long-term cooperation of the Kaliningrad Region of the RF and the regions of the LR of June 29 1999, the Russian-Lithuanian Council on the long-term cooperation between regional and local authorities of the Kaliningrad Region of the RF and the LR was established.

In accordance with the Provision, the Council comprises of Russian and Lithuanian parties established on a parity basis. The national parties of the Council are headed by chairpersons who inform each other of the personal composition of their parties of the Council and their further changes.

The Russian party in the Council is represented by the following persons: Co-chairperson – Governor of the Kaliningrad Region N.N. Tsukanov, Deputy Co-chairperson – Minister - Head of the Agency for International and Interregional Relations A.G. Ivanova, an executive secretary, heads of committees and, subject to an agreement, representatives of the RF MFA, RF Ministry of Economic Development.

The Lithuanian party of the Council is headed by the Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs of Lithuania Mr Andrius Krivas.

The Council determines and coordinates general areas of activities, programs and forms of the long-term cooperation between regional and local authorities of the Kaliningrad Region and the Lithuanian Republic; it also deals with practical issues of the cross-border interaction.

The Council is comprised of 9 Committees, namely:

  • on economic cooperation, commerce and energy sector;
  • on transport;
  • on cross-border cooperation and Euroregions;
  • on agriculture;
  • on matters concerning border crossing points activities;
  • on education, culture, sports and public health;
  • on the environmental protection;
  • on prevention and elimination of natural and technogenic emergencies;
  • on cooperation between law-enforcement agencies.

On April 24-25, 2012 the eighth meeting of the Russian-Lithuanian Council on the long-term cooperation between regional and local authorities of the Kaliningrad Region of the RF and the LR took place in Kaliningrad. The parties discussed issues of bilateral interaction in the sphere of trade and economic cooperation as well as ecological matters. The parties also emphasized the necessity of development and modernization of transport and border infrastructure.

Российско-Литовский Совет по долгосрочному сотрудничеству между региональными и местными властями Калининградской области РФ и Литовской Республики

В соответствии со статьей 8 Соглашения между Правительством Российской Федерации и Правительством Литовской Республики о долгосрочном сотрудничестве Калининградской области РФ и регионов ЛР от 29 июня 1999 года создан Российско–Литовский совет по долгосрочному сотрудничеству между региональными и местными властями Калининградской области РФ и ЛР.

Согласно Положению Совет состоит из российской и литовской частей, создаваемых на паритетных началах. Национальные части совета возглавляю председатели, которые информирует друг друга о персональном составе своих частей совета и их последующих изменениях.

В Совете российскую сторону представляют: сопредседатель – губернатор Калининградской области Н.Н. Цуканов, заместитель сопредседателя – Министр - руководитель Агентства по международным и межрегиональным связям А.Г.Иванова, ответственный секретарь, руководители комиссий и, по согласованию, представители МИД РФ, Минэкономразвития РФ.

Литовскую часть Совета возглавляет Вице-министр иностранных дел Литвы г-н А. Кривас.

Совет определяет и координирует общие направления, программы и формы долгосрочного сотрудничества между региональными и местными властями Калининградской области и Литовской Республики, а также занимается практическими вопросами приграничного взаимодействия.

Совет состоит из 9 комиссий:

  • по экономическому сотрудничеству, торговле и энергетике;
  • по транспорту;
  • по приграничному сотрудничеству и еврорегионам;
  • по сельскому хозяйству;
  • по вопросам работы пунктов пропуска;
  • по образованию, культуре, спорту и здравоохранению;
  • по охране окружающей среды;
  • по предупреждению и ликвидации чрезвычайных ситуаций природного и техногенного характера.
  • по сотрудничеству правоохранительных органов.

В 24-25 апреля 2012 года в Калининграде состоялось восьмое заседание Российско-Литовского совета по долгосрочному сотрудничеству между региональными и местными властями Калининградской области Российской Федерации и Литовской Республики. В ходе заседания обсуждались вопросы двустороннего взаимодействия в сфере торгово-экономического сотрудничества, экологии. Сторонами была также отмечена необходимость развития и модернизации транспортной и приграничной инфраструктуры.